The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Why I Marched

3 Comments

Yeah, so, on Saturday I marched with millions of other people all over the world to protest pretty much everything Predator Trump stands for.

I put on my Angry, Liberal, Feminist Killjoy shirt, my cat hat, my Pussies Against Trump stickers and carried my “A Woman’s Place Is In The Rebellion” (with photo of Princess Leia – of course) sign to San Francisco City Hall and marched with an estimated 100,000 other people who want to fight for what’s right. I met up with good buddy Kate, friend Emilee, sister Michelle, brother-in-law Tony and two teenage nieces, Lorelei and Olivia. The rest of my local peeps went to the Oakland march. And I’m so proud of my friends who were marching all over the country, including Ohio, Washington, DC, Los Angeles, Portland, Seattle and New York. I am so lucky to know such amazing, awesome, smart people.

march3

march2

march

Why did I march?

I marched for my autistic son. I marched for my teenage nieces. I marched for my lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender friends and family. I marched for my Muslim friends. I marched for my African American friends. And yeah, I marched for myself and my pre-existing conditions. I marched because this country has elected a sexual predator who mocks people with disabilities. He is a garbage person, and I have no intention of being quiet about it. And thankfully, millions of other people think the same thing.

I am so happy I went to the march. For the first time since the election, I feel hopeful. All of those people, all over the world: We know this administration is not normal. It’s not OK. The misogyny, the racism, the ignorance, the lying: It’s unacceptable.

I avoided reading criticisms of the march, because they were all bullshit, whiny complaints by people who refuse to understand why people were marching. The people who marched are not “sore losers.” These are people who are going to be impacted by Predator Trump’s policies. They will be denied health care. They will be denied birth control. They will be denied the right to get married. They will be denied the right to an equal education. They will be denied equal pay for equal work. They will be denied clean drinking water. They could be deported for not being born here. They could be deported for practicing a non-Christian religion. These policies won’t “make America great again.” They are the exact opposite of what this country stands for. The idea that we should just accept it is ridiculous.

A woman I know commented on a photo from the march saying that all the women marching were “stupid.” I know, right? It was the most embarrassingly ignorant comment. I cannot, for the life of me, understand her thought process, or if there is even a thought process to understand. Let’s pretend for a second that she doesn’t care about health care, abortion, religion, etc. What woman doesn’t think that women should have equal rights? I’d argue that only a stupid woman would think that. Her lack of empathy is really sad, and I am so glad she is not my Facebook friend, because I don’t want to see ignorant shit like that. I’d reply, “Don’t worry, honey. We will do all the marching, protesting, letter writing and calling, and you just sit on your ignorant ass and enjoy the benefits of what we accomplish.” Ugh.

So anyway, I truly hope that everyone who march is following it up with action. I signed up on the Women’s March site for 10 Actions/100 Days, which has an action plan and emails you on how to do it. It’s rad. I also signed up for SwingLeft.org, which finds your closest swing district and makes it easy for you to volunteer, donate and work to turn that Republican seat into a Democrat seat. And, of course, I’m still donating to organizations that fight for what’s right, including the ACLU, Southern Poverty Law Center and Planned Parenthood.

Let’s do this, you guys.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “Why I Marched

  1. Thanks for this post, Sonia. So, so, so important to harness the energy of the march to keep doing the work that has to be done.

  2. Pingback: Paying It Forward | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

