The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Dorking Out Episode 36: Oscar Party

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, in this week’s episode of Dorking Out we try to figure out what the hell happened at the Oscars. What a cluster!

My co-host Smith actually came to my Oscar party, so I got to beat him in the Oscar pool in person, which is pretty fuckin’ rad. Oh, and we got to record the podcast while actually being in the same room together for the first time ever. That’s pretty fuckin’ rad, too.

Smith and I recorded a gaggle of Facebook Live videos throughout the broadcast, so if want to see what we really look like I suggest you check them out on Dorking Out’s Facebook page.

We have a crazy story about how my TV decided to crap out during the most important moment on the show. You should definitely listen to the podcast, so you can listen to me freak out about it. Also, I had been drinking, and that’s always entertaining.

oops

So, I predicted 16 out of 24 correctly, which is not super good, but it was enough to beat Smith, who guessed 15 correct. However, my friend Roger beat both of us, guessing 17 out of 24 correctly. That means he won the big ol’ bucket of movie theater candy.

We had a ton of Oscar-themed food this year, including enchi-La Las, Hacksaw Rice, Moonwine, Manchester By The Caesar, Hell Or High Water Farmhouse Dip, Guac-topia, Suicide Salsa, Kubo And The Two String Cheeses and Ale, Caesar (beer, duh). And, Roger and Katherine bought some “Jackie”-themed ice cream, which my high maintenance vegan ass couldn’t even eat. I heard it was good, though.

icecream

So, yeah, I wore my “Oscar wiener” dress and Toby dressed up, too, in honor of my Homer, who was very, very missed. He always wore a bow tie on Oscar Sunday.

oscarwiener

toby-bowtie

wienerdress

So anyway, you can listen to Dorking Out here, or you can find us on iTunes, Stitcher and YouTube. If you listen to the show, I’d love to hear what you think. You can comment here, or on our website or Facebook page.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

