The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

You Get An Update! You Get An Update! Everybody Gets An Update!

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, I’ve got a few quick updates for you guys.

Kitty Update

Our cat friend didn’t come around for about four days. He/she returned on Tuesday, looking much skinnier. I was really worried. I even checked all the animal adoption sites, thinking she/he would turn up.

daniel

Our house is a pussy magnet.

Back in the day, I had indoor/outdoor cats. I was raised that way, so it wasn’t a big deal to me to just open the door and let my cat go outside. Cats go outside. That’s just the way it was. Now, older, wiser, more anxiety-prone Sonia can’t handle it. I would never let Kubo go outside and let her run around the neighborhood.

What I am saying is, I’m getting too attached to this stray cat. I worry about her when she’s not around.

love

Health Update

Everything is going pretty good, you guys!

I go to Kaiser every few months for checkups. I see the oncologist once a year for a thorough exam. I have an OB/GYN that specializes in breast cancer patients, who I’m seeing once a year, too. BUT, we schedule the appointments six months apart, so either the oncologist or the OB/GYN is seeing me every six months. Plus, I’m getting routine skin checks at the dermatologist every three months.

I still go to my oncologist’s office every three months for my Lupron injection, but I just see a nurse for that. And I’m still taking tamoxifen. Good times.

The hot flashes have become more manageable. They usually show up when I’m drinking … so I have them all the time. I kid … sort of.

My anxiety has been much, MUCH better. I haven’t had any panic attacks since Homer died, and even then I kinda headed that one off at the pass by taking Ativan before it actually happened. I’m still taking a very low dose (5 mg) of Lexapro. I really feel like my awesome myself again. It’s rad.

My New Year’s resolution of doing Weight Watchers is working. I’ve lost 9 pounds so far. It really should be more than that after two months. BUT, to be fair, I had a really nasty cold last week, and I couldn’t stop myself from eating excessively to comfort myself. AND, it was SF Beer Week. Also, I have no will power.

America Update

I didn’t even bother watching Predator Trump’s speech, because he makes me sick and fills me with rage. The media was falling all over itself Tuesday night to say he sounded “presidential,” but seriously – fuck that guy. He stuck to the script and didn’t grab any pussy during his speech. Yes, how presidential, media outlets. Goddamn, the bar is so fuckin’ low now. He is a liar and a sexual predator. I don’t even want to get into specifics about his stupid fuckin’ speech, but he talked about “clean water” on the same day he started the process to repeal the Clean Water Act. He’s a garbage human being. I don’t care what he reads off a teleprompter.

So, yeah, I’ve still been making calls and writing letters to my reps. I am also making donations to organizations that fight for what’s right when I get paid, including the Southern Poverty Law Center, Planned Parenthood and International Rescue Committee. I also set up monthly donations for the ACLU and the Humane Society, because animals are good people.

Since I already have a full-time job, plus a kid and a weekly podcast, I don’t have all the time in the world to be outraged, so I try to keep my outrage fueled with two things.

We subscribed to the New York Times now! It’s time to pay for good journalism. Also, Predator Trump hates the New York Times, so we had to support them. We got a digital subscription, which comes with the Sunday edition. The paper arrived on Sunday it was like Christmas morning. I was SO HAPPY. I got to drink coffee and read the newspaper like my ancestors. It was heaven.

Hello, lover.

Hello, lover.

I also signed up for The Skimm, which delivers an email every morning summarizing all the news I need to know so I don’t look like a clueless dope. You should sign up, too.

I think that’s it for the updates today. I’ll give you a little taste of next week’s Dorking Out. I saw “Get Out” on Tuesday night, and my mighty, mighty good man David and I are planning on seeing “Logan” on Friday night. No doubt Smith and I will be talking about them on the show.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

