The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Naive Parenting Lesson #368

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, my mighty, mighty good boy Calvin is such a good kid that sometimes I forget he’s a kid, and that kids gonna kid.

Last night we were eating dinner together. He was having chicken, and I was eating a big salad. I know, I know. I’m such a fuckin’ top chef. Anyway, Calvin wanted a cupcake for dinner, because he’s smart. But, being a somewhat responsible parent, I told him that if he ate all of his chicken he could have a cupcake.

I left the room to put my plate in the sink, and when I came back Calvin pointed out that his chicken was gone.

“Can I have a cupcake, please?” he asked, while holding up his empty plate.

“Oh! Yes! Of course. Good job eating all your chicken,” I told him.

I brought him a cupcake, and he happily ate it – as you can see.

After he was finished, I was wiping off the table, and I picked up his water glass. Guess what was in it? Yep. The chicken. The boy hid his chicken in a glass of water, and I totally didn’t notice. He 100% fooled me into giving him a cupcake.

“Calvin, what’s in your glass?” I asked.

“Oh no! The chicken is all wet! The chicken is in the water.” he replied.

“How did it get in there?” I asked.

He just shook his head and ran off. Sneaky little bastard.

I couldn’t even be mad. He tricked me, the same way that kids have been tricking their parents about eating food for years. I’m kinda proud of him.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

