The Sonia Show

Writer. Podcaster. Beer drinker. Movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

The high road

1 Comment

Yeah, so, I’m sure my soon-to-be ex-husband and his mistress would’ve preferred I took the high road and not written about my experiences.

I certainly thought about it. I thought of Michelle Obama saying, “When they go low, we go high.” I wanted to be the better person. I did that for a year.

But what is the high road?

Is the high road me being quiet so they can pretend they’re good people? Is the high road me lying to people and saying, “Things just didn’t work out” so they don’t have to face those pesky consequences? Is the high road nearby lover’s lane, where they used to hook up while lying to their respective spouses? I can’t find it on Google Maps.

The high road to them is me healing my broken heart in silence so they can control the narrative. That road sounds dark, lonely, and scary. Hard pass.

If me speaking my truth upsets them and makes them feel the sads, then maybe my truth isn’t the problem.

Being honest with y’all has made me feel better. I’m healing. I feel stronger and empowered. I feel more like myself.

Thank you! I’m so grateful to y’all. You’ve commented, emailed, texted, and slid into my DMs. I know I have all the support, and it means so much to me.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/podcaster/mother/goober in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, watch movies, go to baseball games, kick breast cancer's ass, explore with my awesome autistic son, Calvin, say assy things, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

One thought on “The high road

  1. Pingback: No, Scandoval isn’t the best thing to happen to Ariana | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.