The Sonia Show

Writer. Podcaster. Beer drinker. Movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

I Live Here: SF

4 Comments

Yeah, so, I live here.

When I was recovering from my mastectomy I got the most wonderful random email from Julie from I Live Here: SF. We had never met before, but she had read my blog and wanted to wish me a fast recovery.

I checked out her websites. She takes the most amazing pictures. I emailed her back, thanked her and told her that she takes beautiful pictures. Then she asked if I would be interested in participating in I Live Here:SF, in which she takes your picture and you write an accompanying story about your life in San Francisco. My immediate reaction was, “I’m too scared to do that,” which is why I said “Yes, please.”

It was an honor to participate, and I think Julie is amazingly talented. I have written on this site before about how difficult it is to photograph me. I am so grateful to Julie for the lovely photos and for the opportunity to share my story and do something that scares me a little.

Click here for the rest of the photos.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/podcaster/mother/goober in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, watch movies, go to baseball games, kick breast cancer's ass, explore with my awesome autistic son, Calvin, say assy things, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

4 thoughts on “I Live Here: SF

  1. Sonia, I came here by way of Tangobaby and the S.F. I live here project….I love your story! I am so happy that you found the love of your life and that you have beaten the big ugly “C”! Congratulations on both counts.

    best of wishes to you,

    S

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your story with Julie. You did exactly what I have been taught to do when I’m afraid: face it. Not easy and you did it eloquently.

  3. Wow, this is so cool! And the pictures are amazing… you and Homer should get a room.

    Oh, wait, you already have one! 🙂

  4. Sonia,

    Thank you so much for the very enthusiastic and kind shout out. I’m still not sure how I found your blog in the first place (not that it matters) and I’m so glad that I got past my own personal block of not usually asking people to participate in i live here:SF (I rely on the kindness of strangers–aka volunteers that find me).

    What’s most wonderful about your story (aside from the fact that I got to meet you and David) is that your story is real and true and shows us what is important in life. In a world that is so full of unimportant distractions, we need to be reminded of how precious life and love is.

    ps. hi S! Thanks for coming over. And Cheryl, too.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.